FaceApp is storing all of your photos and information

If you’re one of the millions who lately participated in the FaceApp “# FaceApp Challenge” and show the universe what you’ll look like when you’re aged and gray, I have some unfortunate news for you: You may have involuntarily granted access to your photo and information to people to do whatever they want.

We had also seen this kind of event before, including the gender exchange filter from Snapchat, which was just a couple of weeks earlier everywhere.

So what data do consumers give up when they use FaceApp and should they be concerned about it?

“When you use our Service, our servers automatically record certain log file information, including your web request, Internet Protocol address, browser type, referring / exit pages and URLs, number of clicks and how you interact with links on the Service, domain names, landing pages, pages viewed, and other such information,” indicates FaceApp’s privacy policy.

Users must also give consent to share their data “with businesses that are legally part of the same group of companies that FaceApp is part of, or that become part of that group.” The policy does not declare what companies this involves.

Once you download and use FaceApp, you give this Russian firm the sole right with any picture you upload to the app to do whatever it wants. You might wind up on a billboard somewhere in China, but your face may wind up training some AI facial-recognition algorithm.

We all have to explore our information closely and take precautions. Take care of what you (and your telephone and texts) are exposed to. Read all that you sign up online for in fine print. You don’t always have to be on the recent viral trend, mainly if your information is involved.

Leave a Reply